Idaho earthquake catalog for county hazards project


Description Spatial Attributes

Theme: Idaho earthquakes
Place: Idaho, Idaho Counties

This database constains information on historical Idaho Idaho earthquakes derived from a search of the Advanced National Seismic System (ANSS) catalog. It contains earthquake epicenter location, magnitude, date, and time. The search was performed for dates between 1970 and 1/27/2011. The data are listed for each of Idaho's 44 counties.

This dataset provides an Idaho earthquake catalog for each county in Idaho (not all counties have experienced historical earthquakes). It was developed to assist counties mitigate earthquake hazards.

Supplementary Information
Source of data:
Advanced National Seismic System (ANSS) Composite Earthquake Catalog
Search parameters used to extract Idaho data from the catalog:
·	catalog=ANSS 
·	start_time=1970/01/01,00:00:00 
·	end_time= 2011/01/27,11:59:59
·	minimum_latitude=42.0 
·	maximum_latitude=49.0 
·	minimum_longitude=-117.0 
·	maximum_longitude=-111.0 
·	minimum_magnitude=1 
·	maximum_magnitude=8 
·	event_type=E 
This yielded a dataset of earthquakes from 1970-2011/1/17 with minimum magnitude 1 and maximum magnitude = 8
Details regarding the fields in the dataset (Time, Lat, Lon, Depth, Mag, Magt etc. are given in


Status of the data

Time period for which the data is relevant

Publication Information

Data storage and access information

Details about this document